Update! October 1-7

I’ve been busy in the kitchen earlier this week. It feels so long ago! I’ve had a few hits and misses and revisited some old favorites. The gnocchi mac and cheese was good, as well as the chicken ranch lasagna, but they weren’t huge hits. We really enjoyed the beef stroganoff and my husband liked the Mexican casserole. Tonight we’ll be trying the pizza casserole. I’m guessing I’ll find other goodies to make, too. :). Here’s some of the other things I made this week:
Beer bread – it’s so quick and easy to throw together. I made it last minute to go with Autumn salad when a friend came over for lunch.
My friend took the rest of the beer bread home and I was craving more, so I tried this English muffin bread. HUGE hit! I made only half the recipe (2 loaves) and there’s still a lot left. My husband doesn’t get too excited about things, but he was excited about this bread! Oh, did I mention its super easy?!
And of course, it’s apple season. There’s so many apples and so many dips that I need to try them all! This week I made spiced caramel apple dip. Very yummy! But my brickle dip is still my favorite. And lets face it, the apples are just the excuse to eat the sweet dips! ;) Enjoy the recipe!

Apple Brickle Dip
From my husband’s grandmother’s family cookbook

8 oz. package cream cheese
1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
1/4 cup sugar
1 tsp. vanilla
10 oz package toffee bits (either plain or chocolate covered taste great!)
Apples

In mixing bowl, beat cream cheese, sugars, and vanilla. Fold in toffee bits. Serve with chopped apples. Refrigerate leftovers.

20121006-113220.jpg

2 Comments on “Update! October 1-7”

  1. Jodi Patrick says:

    I love the beef stroganoff in the crock pot. I have made it before using a different recipe, and it was a huge hit. My son doesn’t like mushrooms, so I make it separate, and my daughter doesn’t like onions so I puree them:) This is the recipe I used: http://thecrockstar.blogspot.com/2009/01/absolute-best-crockpot-beef-stroganoff.html

    You are a rock star Krista, don’t know how you do it all. I especially love the beer bread!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 153 other followers