Easiest Chicken Parmesan Sandwiches

Time for a Thursday update and a new recipe I’m very excited about! But before I get to that I need to share with you a recipe that didn’t work for me. Please know that I am in no way discrediting the person that created this recipe. It clearly worked for this person, just not me. And I want to let you all know so you can be aware of the possible results. I’m not sure what I did wrong, but the Bacon Cheese Potatoes did not come out. The potatoes and onions cooked well in the slow cooker, but the bacon did not cook and was mushy, and the cheese burned and curdled. We didn’t eat it because I was worried about the bacon not being done and the cheese didn’t taste very good. Maybe my slow cooker is different…? I don’t know. I hope you have better luck, because this recipe has great potential.
Ok, onto better things. I had a lot of leftover grapes this week, so I made Creamy Grape Dessert. I would really consider this a salad and ate it as a side dish. I like that it’s a Skinnytaste recipe and lightened up from the original recipe.
Now onto what you all came for – the sandwiches. You’ll need a fork for these! Every week before I make the menu I ask my husband if he wants something particular that week. This week he said he wanted chicken Parmesan sandwiches. I was not thrilled with this choice because I hate biting into a hunk of chicken in a sandwich and finding a disgusting chewy piece. I was trying to think of a way to make these sandwiches that tasted like chicken Parmesan without actually making chicken Parmesan. It has all the same components and flavors as the original, but it’s not fried! Score! I am very happy with my creation and it was a family pleaser. I hope you enjoy it, too!

Easiest Chicken Parmesan Sandwiches

4 boneless skinless chicken breasts
1/3 bottle Italian dressing
1/2 jar favorite pasta sauce
4 kaiser rolls
2 cloves of garlic, smashed
Olive oil, for drizzling
1/4 cup bread crumbs
1/2 teaspoon Italian seasoning
1 1/2 cups mozzarella cheese
1/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese

Put the chicken breasts in the slow cooker. I put mine in frozen. The cook time will be less if they’re already thawed. Pour Italian dressing over chicken, enough to cover chicken and bottom of slow cooker. Cook on low 4-8 hours, depending on if your chicken is frozen.

When chicken is finished, take out of slow cooker and shred. The chicken tastes amazing at this point and could easily be served as an easy main course.

Preheat broiler and move top rack to top third of oven.

Place the shredded chicken in a large frying pan over medium low heat. Pour the pasta sauce over the top and thoroughly mix. You’ll want this to be really saucy because the bread will absorb some of it. Heat through.

Slice kaiser rolls and place insides facing up on baking sheet. Place under broiler until lightly toasted. Rub smashed garlic on bread then lightly drizzle with olive oil. Set roll tops aside. Pile chicken evenly on roll bottoms.

Top chicken with a generous sprinkle of bread crumbs, Italian seasoning, Parmesan cheese, then mozzarella cheese. Broil for a few minutes until cheese is golden brown. Replace roll tops and enjoy!

I have some goodies coming up this weekend… Stay tuned and happy eating!

20121018-195142.jpg


One Comment on “Easiest Chicken Parmesan Sandwiches”

  1. Nicholas Hagen says:

    Great job to my wife! I strongly encourage everyone to try! I love when she makes new creations that are yummy!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 154 other followers