Taco Chili

It’s football night at our house. I’m really, really not a fan of football. I like the food and the camaraderie it brings, but I don’t understand the sport! And it’s because of football I uprooted my life in Minnesota 5 years ago and moved to Connecticut. I’ve just recently realized I’m no longer bitter at the sport – or my husband, but it took awhile to get here. I’m kidding, I was never bitter at my husband, well, maybe a little…
Taco chili is a great, easy recipe for the cold months and for watching sports. All you do is brown the meat and open up a bunch of cans. You can eat it right when it’s warm, or let it sit on the stove all night and grab seconds, thirds, fourths… whenever you want. And it feeds a crowd. Easy. My husband is not a soup eater, but he will eat this. Try it on the next game day at your house, or next cold night, or next Tuesday. Hope you like it!

Taco Chili
Original recipe by Paula Deen on foodnetwork.com

1 pound ground beef or turkey (use turkey to save some calories)
1 onion, chopped
1 can (15 oz)kidney beans, drained
1 can (15 oz)pinto beans, drained
1 (1 1/4 oz) package taco seasoning mix
1 (1 oz) package buttermilk or ranch salad dressing mix
1 teaspoon chili powder
1/4 teaspoon ground cumin
4 cups water
1 (16 oz.) can tomato sauce
1 (11 3/4 oz.) can diced tomatoes and green chiles
salt and pepper, to taste
Taco toppings, such as: chips, shredded cheese, sour cream, diced onion, taco sauce, etc…

In a Dutch oven, brown meat and onion until cooked through. Drain.
Add the rest of the ingredients (except toppings). Stir and heat to boiling. Reduce heat and simmer. Serve immediately or in a few hours.
Top with desired toppings. Enjoy!

20130105-182005.jpg

3 Comments on “Taco Chili”

  1. What a great idea! I was just thinking about making chili, but seeing as we’ve eaten way too much cornbread already this week, I was about to nix the idea. But if I can put a little Mexican twist on it and serve it with tortilla chips, that just might do the trick.

  2. Great! I hope you and your family enjoy it!


Leave a Reply

