Ranch Green Beans

I’m a little embarrassed to share this because it’s not really a recipe. But I want to post it because it was so easy and so good I don’t want to forget.
I really don’t like vegetables. Before I had kids, I never made them. Now that I have kids, I make them to set the good example, be the good parent, blah, blah, blah. I like making the frozen vegetables in the steam bags that you just throw in the microwave and you’re done. But they’re pretty blah, with no seasonings. I usually season them with butter and garlic salt. I’m trying to lose weight, so butter isn’t a great idea. I love ranch dressing, but that’s not so healthy either. When opening the spice cabinet, I saw a packet of ranch dressing mix. I opened the packet and and sprinkled some on the beans right when they got out of the microwave and were still a little wet with steam. It mixed into a nice flavorful coating on the beans. I enjoyed these beans so much I had seconds! Since I have leftover dressing mix, I’ll be trying it on other veggies this week, like broccoli.

Ranch Green Beans

1 bag of steam fresh green beans, or other vegetables
2 tablespoons of ranch dressing mix, more or less to taste

Cook vegetables according to package directions. Remove from microwave and place in bowl. Sprinkle with dressing mix and stir. If too dry, add a little olive oil. Enjoy!

20130114-190459.jpg

2 Comments on “Ranch Green Beans”

  1. This sounds delicious! Cant wait to try it!

    Please check out my blog when you get the chance: simplyfoodtales.wordpress.com . Thanks!

  2. Thanks! I hope you like it as much as I do!


Leave a Reply

